Home > 4.2 Presidential elections > COSTA RICA - Electoral Act
Download file    

Administrative and electoral territorial division

The administrative territorial division shall apply to the electoral process. To this end, the Executive Branch of government must prepare and publish it at least twelve months prior to the day announced for the election of the President and Vice Presidents of the Republic. It must list provinces, cantons, districts, villages or hamlets in detail, employing the order of the laws and decrees that created them. It must also state the population of each one, in accordance with census data and the most recent calculations of the National Statistics and Census Institute (INEC).

The TSE shall be empowered to divide an administrative district into two or more electoral districts thus making it more convenient for voters to cast their votes. However, it cannot use this power in the eight months prior to the elections.