Home > 4.2 Presidential elections > AUSTRIA - Federal Presidential Election Act
Download file    
Section 3

(1) For the purpose of the Federal Presidential election the federal territory shall be divided into nine provincial electoral areas, each area covering one province. Each provincial electoral area shall carry the name of its respective province and be allocated a number in alphabetical order.

(2) Votes are cast in local election offices, without prejudice to the regulations governing voting by voting cards. Local election offices are the municipal or precinct election boards.

(3) Each political district, in the provinces of Lower Austria and Vorarlberg each administrative district, and each town with its own charter shall constitute a constituency. In the city of Vienna, each municipal district shall constitute a constituency. In a constituency, the election result of the local election shall be calculated. The provincial constituencies shall form one or several regional constituencies pursuant to section 3 NCEA and according to attachment 1 to the NCEA.