Home > Voting procedures > KAZAKHSTAN - Constitutional Act On Elections
Download file    
Article 38

Time and place of voting

1. Voting at elections of the President, deputies of Mazhilis of the Parliament and maslikhats, members of other local self-government bodies shall be conducted on the day of elections from 7 am till 8 pm of local time. The territorial or district election commissions upon presentation by the corresponding akim and the precinct election commissions shall be eligible to establish other time for beginning and end of voting. In this case voting cannot begin before 6 am and end after 10 pm. The voters shall be notified about the decision of the territorial or district commissions to change the time for the start and end of voting.

2. Precinct election commission shall notify voters via mass media and in other ways about the time and place of voting not later than ten days before the day of election; and not later than five days before the day of election of members of local self-government bodies other than maslikhats.

3. At the polling stations to be formed on board the ships belonging to the Republic of Kazakhstan that on the day of elections are in navigation, in the military units, in the rest houses, health resorts, medioprophilactic institutions, in the places of the citizens’ stay in the remote and hard-to-reach areas, in the distant pastures, in the investigative wards and detention centers as well as in the representative offices of the Republic of Kazakhstan in foreign states, the precinct election commission shall announce the voting as finished at any time if all voters enrolled in the registers have voted. The list of such electoral districts shall be approved by the corresponding election commission not later than seven days before elections while at conduct of elections of members of local self-government bodies other than maslikhats – not later than three days before elections.

4. Voting during elections of the Senate deputies shall be conducted within one day. In this case the time of voting shall be fixed by the territorial election commission.