Home > 3.2 Proportional systems > ARMENIA - Joint Opinion on the Draf Electoral Code (As of 18 April 2016)
Download file    
Paragraph 103

There are two systems of representation for the councils: a majoritarian system for all councils but three and a proportional system for the councils of these three, which are the biggest cities: Yerevan, Gyumri, and Vanadzor. It does not seem to be specified how many votes the voter may cast in the plurality system, but the rapporteurs were informed during their visit that it is meant to be one. Should the intention be to establish a single non- transferable vote system (SNTV) system, this should be clearly stated in the law. The local community will, in both cases, constitute one multi-member constituency (Articles 105.2 and 124.2). The head of the communities (mayors) are in most cases directly elected, with the three exceptions in Yerevan, Gyumri, and Vanadzor, where the council elect the mayor.